Skip to Main Content

The 1918 Influenza Epidemic in Prince George: Learning Resource

A primary source analysis teaching resource about the 1918 Spanish influenza epidemic in the Prince George area

Contact us

Profile Photo
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
APPOINTMENT ONLY
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)

Photographs that illustrate the 1918 Spanish Influenza experience in the Prince George area

Millar Addition School

Millar Addition Public School, Queensway at 15th Ave. This school was used as a hospital during the 1918 flu epidemic. (Exploration Place P981.35.69)

Group Portrait of Women at the Central School, Fort George

This school was used as a hospital during the flu epidemic in 1918 (Exploration Place P981.35.43)

Group Portrait of Women at the Central School, Fort George

Fort George Hospital

The Fort George Hospital, in Central Fort George, was staffed in 1911 by Drs. Cecil Swinnerton, McSorley and Ewert (Exploration Place P983.12.62)

Fort George Hospital

The Grand Trunk Pacific Hospital at Foley’s Cache, Prince George

The Grand Trunk Pacific Hospital at Foley’s Cache, Prince George. The hospital was built in the winter of 1913 and officially opened April 1914. (Exploration Place P986.5.128)

The Grand Trunk Pacific Hospital at Foley’s Cache, Prince George

George and Frank Jorgensen

Young victims of the 1918 Influenza epidemic, George and Frank Jorgensen, of South Fort George. (Exploration Place P2003.30.8)

George and Frank Jorgensen

BC Provincial Police Commissioner T.W.S. Parsons

BC Provincial Police Commissioner T.W.S. Parsons on horseback in the 1930s. Parsons was the BCPP Inspector in Fort George during the 1918 Spanish Influenza outbreak and had a key role in administrating the response to the outbreak (BC Archives I-68480)

BC Provincial Police, Prince George

Group portrait of BC Provincial Police at Prince George (BC Archives A-08431)

BC Provincial Police, Prince George

BC Provincial Police, Prince George

Group portrait of BC Provincial Police, Prince George (BC Archives A-08432)

BC Provincial Police, Prince George

Fort George Trading Post, Government Offices, and Jail

Fort George Trading Post, Government Offices, and Jail, ca. 1918 (BC Archives C-08798)

Fort George Trading Post, Government Offices, and Jail

"Indian Village in Prince George"

"Indian village in Prince George", circa 1910-1924 (Northern BC Archives 2011.3.2.23)

Indian Village in Prince George

Harry G. Perry Tailor and Clothier shop

Harry G. Perry Tailor and Clothier shop, circa 1912-1914. Perry was the Mayor of Prince George during the 1918 Spanish influenza epidemic. (Northern BC Archives 2002.7.1.46)

Harry G. Perry Tailor and Clothier shop