Subject Guides: ENPL 313: Rural Community Economic Development: Census of Population

Introduction

Through its Census of Population, Statistics Canada takes a snapshot of the Canadian population every five years. This data is used by government agencies and other organizations for policy planning and is also heavily used by researchers and businesses. The last census took place in the spring of 2016: 2016 Census Program release schedule.

Illustrated Glossary (2016 Census)
Use the following reference materials when you have questions about the levels of geography used by Statistics Canada. It is important to use the reference material for the specific census that you are using; boundaries and definitions may change somewhat from census to census.
Illustrated Glossary (2011 Census)
Illustrated Glossary (2006 Census)
Doesn't exist anymore. Use 2006 Census Dictionary (see below), which contains the same information. Click on "Geography universe" section under "Definitions" on the side bar on the left-hand side of the page.
Illustrated Glossary (2001 Census)
Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2011
Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2006
Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2001
Reference Maps (2011 Census)
2006 Census Geographic Reference Maps
Reference Maps (2001 Census) from Statistics Canada's Data Liberation Initiative (DLI)
Click on "Geography", click on "2001", click on "Maps", click on "Reference Maps", navigate to the desired map, and download. Note that the above link will only work on campus. Use UNBC's virtual desktop (http://www.unbc.ca/information-technology-services/virtual-desktop-unbc) to access from off campus.

Census Dictionary (2016 Census)
Note: See Appendix 2.0 for the questionnaires.
Census Dictionary (2011 Census)
Note: See Appendix B for the questionnaires.

Refer to the Census / NHS Dictionary for detailed information about census / NHS variables.

NHS Dictionary (2011 NHS)
Note: See Appendix 1.1 for the questionnaires. Differences between the N1 and N2 questionnaires explained here: http://www12.statcan.gc.ca/nhs-enm/2011/ref/guides/99-011-x/99-011-x2011006-eng.cfm#a3.
Census Dictionary (2006 Census)
Note: The questionnaires for the 2006 Census may be found at http://www12.statcan.gc.ca/census-recensement/2006/ref/question-guide-eng.cfm.
Census Dictionary (2001 Census)
Note: The questionnaires for the 2006 Census may be found in the Census Handbook at http://www12.statcan.gc.ca/english/census01/Products/Reference/2001handbook/war.htm.

Subject Librarian

Susie Wilson

Email Me

Contact:

250-960-6607

Subjects: Research Data Management

Contact Us

Frequently Asked Questions
Check out our FAQs!
In Person
Drop by the Research Help Desk today!
Email
library@unbc.ca
Call
Have a question? We are available at (250) 960-6475
Text a Librarian
Have a research questions? Text us! (250) 999-0478