Succinct and authoritative definitions of human geography's key terms

Summary: With clear, critical, and constructive surveys of key terms by leading researchers in the field, this fifth edition remains the definitive guide to the concepts and debates in human geography. A consolidated bibliography provides convenient access to key works by major figures in the field.

Published in association with the journal, Progress in Human Geography, and edited and written by the biggest names in the field, the Handbook sets out what it is that human geography does in coming to know, assess and live the world.

Summary: This Handbook provides an authoritative overview of the diversity of contemporary geographical research on cities and urbanization. It demonstrates the vibrancy of current research, and the exciting future of the field. Bringing together different philosophical, theoretical, and methodological approaches to the study of the city and the urban, chapters incorporate elements from different disciplines with international perspectives to create an extensive reference on contemporary urban geography research. The Handbook of Urban Geography consists of thirty chapters written by the leading experts and recognized specialists in the field. Organized into seven parts, this Handbook explores recent theories and methodologies, urban networks, redevelopment, inequality, socialities in the city, urban politics, and sustainability. Recognizing the interdisciplinary nature of the field, contributing authors are from across disciplinary boundaries, expanding the horizons for future geography research. Researchers and academics in geography, urban studies, and related disciplines will find this Handbook offers succinct overviews of recent developments in the literature. Graduate and undergraduate students will also find this an accessible and useful reference work.

Summary: This unique Handbook examines the impacts on, and responses to, economic geography explicitly from the perspective of the behaviour, mechanics, systems and experiences of different firms in various types of industries. The industry studies approach allows the authors to explain why the economic geography of these different industries exhibits such particular and diverse characteristics. The sectors and industries covered include: traditional heavy industry and engineering, creative and cultural industries, knowledge sectors, natural resource-based and environmental sectors, knowledge, networks and communications issues. The Handbook of Industry Studies and Economic Geography will strongly appeal to students, scholars and researchers interested in all aspects of industrial location and economic geography.

Contents: Introduction / Peter Jackson -- Reclaiming 'the social' in social and cultural geography / Nicky Gregson -- Embodying social geography / Pamela Moss and Isabel Dyck -- Cultural geographies of transnationality / Katharyne Mitchell -- Introduction / Trevor J. Barnes -- Cultures of labour : work, employment, identity and economic transformations / Linda McDowell -- Cultures of money / Adam Tickell -- A cultural economic geography of production / Meric S. Gertler -- Cultures of consumption / Don Slater -- Introduction / Sarah Whatmore -- Geographies of nature in the making / Noel Castree -- Reanimating cultural geography / Jennifer Wolch, Jody Emel and Chris Wilbert -- 'Inhabiting' -- landscapes and natures / Steve Hinchliffe -- Introduction / David Matless -- Dead labor and the political economy of landscape -- California living, California dying / Don Mitchell -- Landscape and the European sense of sight -- eyeing nature / Denis Cosgrove -- Landscape and the obliteration of practice / Tim Cresswell -- Introduction / Robyn Longhurst -- The spatial imperative of subjectivity / Elspeth Probyn -- Cultural geographies of racialization : the territory of race / Alastair Bonnett and Anoop Nayak -- Queer cultural geographies : We're here! We're queer! We're over there, too! / Michael Brown and Larry Knopp -- Troubling the place of gender / Liz Bondi and Joyce Davidson -- Introduction / Jane M. Jacobs -- Critical imperial and colonial geographies / Daniel Clayton -- Postcolonial geographies of place and migration / Brenda S.A. Yeoh -- Cultures and spaces of postcolonial knowledges / Anthony D. King -- Introduction / Jennifer Robinson -- The west and other feminisms / Cheryl McEwan -- Beyond Euro-Americanism : democracy and post-colonialism / David Slater -- Alternative modern : development as cultural geography / Michael Watts -- Introduction / Gerald Toal and John Agnew -- Boundaries in a globalizing world / Anssi Paasi -- Gender in a political and patriarchal world / Joanne P. Sharp -- The cultural geography of scale / Clare Newstead, Carolina K. Reid and Matthew Sparke -- Environmental geopolitics : nature, culture, urbanity / Simon Dalby -- Introduction / John Paul Jones III -- The culture of epistemology / Ulf Strohmayer -- Knowledge and geography's technology : politics, ontologies, representations in the changing ways we know / Francis Harvey -- The construction of geographical knowledge : racialization, spatialization / Audrey Kobayashi -- Contested cultural landscapes / Richard Howitt and Sandra Suchet-Pearson.