Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Research Guide
The Library Research Guide is your one-stop information source on beginning your research, searching the Geoffrey R. Weller Library catalogue and databases, evaluating your sources, and more.
Welcome to UNBC's general subject guide for Geography. This guide will help you find and access the resources you need to successfully complete your assignments.
GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography ecology geology oceanography geomechanics and development studies. The database provides current coverage of over 1 800 journals and archival coverage of 2 000 additional titles from 1980 onwards. GEOBASE contains more than 1.3 million records spanning over twenty years to present with 76 000 records added annually. Each GEOBASE record contains a full bibliographic citation and indexing terms and codes. 99.5% of the GEOBASE records contain abstracts.
The GeoRef database established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966 provides access to the geoscience literature of the world.
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment and serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the environment and disciplines issues facing our planet.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Canadian Business & Current Affairs is a comprehensive bibliographic full text reference and current events database. Information is available from a broad range of Canadian sources with the database containing over 4 million records. Subjects covered are current events, business, science, the arts, and Canadian academic information. Full text is available from over 750 journals with indexing for an additional 800 periodicals and daily news sources.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It offers current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references and allows users to conduct broad-based, comprehensive searches.
Data & Statistics
Main source for Canadian statistics
Community Profiles are a great place to get detailed information about a specific place - province, city, or even a neighbourhood.
Freely available BC Government machine-readable data.
Source of Statistics Canada public-use microdata files (PUMFs), aggregate statistics tables, and various public opinion poll datasets. Also includes metadata for ICPSR and Statistics Canada master files.
Canadian Census by Year
Explore census data for each census year.
Drop by the Research Help Desk today!
Have a question? We are available at (250) 960-6475
Text a Librarian
Have a research questions? Text us! (250) 999-0478