Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Background Information
Reference materials are an excellent way to acquaint yourself with a particular topic. Click on the links below to discover some of the reference materials available relating to your assignment.
Encyclopedias | Dictionaries | Handbooks
The Canadian Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive and authoritative general reference work ever produced in Canada. It contains more than 8 million words in English and French in some 20 000 articles written by expert contributors from every part of Canada.
Encyclopedia Britannica online
Encyclopedia Britannica is one of the best-known encyclopedias and has been published since 1768. The online version includes a dictionary a thesaurus and other research tools as well as the complete encyclopedia.
Routledge International Handbook of Outdoor Studies by
Call Number: Online resource
Publication Date: 2015
Summary: The ‘outdoors' is a physical and ideological space in which people engage with their environment, but it is also an important vehicle for learning and for leisure. The Routledge Handbook of Outdoor Studies is the first book to attempt to define and survey the multi-disciplinary set of approaches that constitute the broad field of outdoor studies, including outdoor recreation, outdoor education, adventure education, environmental studies, physical culture studies and leisure studies. It reflects upon the often haphazard development of outdoor studies as a discipline, critically assesses current knowledge in outdoor studies, and identifies further opportunities for future research in this area. With a broader sweep than any other book yet published on the topic, this handbook traces the philosophical and conceptual contours of the discipline, as well as exploring key contemporary topics and debates, and identifying important issues in education and professional practice. It examines the cultural, social and political contexts in which people experience the outdoors, including perspectives on outdoor studies from a wide range of countries, providing the perfect foundation for any student, researcher, educator or outdoors practitioner looking to deepen their professional knowledge of the outdoors and our engagement with the world around us.