Northern BC Archives & Special Collections acquires rare publications and records created by individuals and private organizations that chronicle the history of Northern and Central British Columbia, document the university community, and support teaching and research interests at UNBC. Many of the records held by UNBC Archives come from private donors. We welcome inquiries from faculty, students, staff, alumni, organizations, and members of the general public wishing to donate records. Through your generous donations, we are able to build our holdings and preserve and make available your stories, memories, and achievements for future generations.

Your records will become a valuable research resource to the faculty, students, and staff of UNBC as well as members of the general public. A decision to donate records to us means the documented memory of the life and career of an individual or the history and operations of an organization will be preserved for the use and benefit of future generations. Donated records are not only used by researchers to understand the past, but are often creatively repurposed in ways unimaginable to the creators of the records.

In addition to the above benefits, your records will be:

• Arranged and described by an archivist according to professional best practices and standards.
• Re-housed in acid-free file folders and containers (if paper-based) to better preserve them.
• Migrated (i.e. copied) to recognized preservation formats if the records are in electronic form.
• Stored in environmentally controlled vaults or managed on secure university servers.
• Communicated to the university community and the general public through institutional, provincial, and national descriptive databases.
• Accessed by our users in our monitored reading room.

The Northern BC Archives & Special Collections acquires, preserves, and provides access to materials of permanent value that relate to the:

• Institutional history of UNBC and its institutes
• Culture and history of Northern British Columbia

We serve research and scholarship by making these records available to researchers, students, faculty, and the general public.

Add to Our Collections

If you, your family, or your organization have materials that fit our stated mandate above, we would love to hear from you. We welcome gifts and donations that enrich existing collections, support the teaching and research programs at the University, and complement the Northern BC Archives & Special Collections present holdings.