Skip to main content

First Nations & Indigenous Peoples of Northern BC

This guide showcases the Northern BC Archives collections concerning the First Nations and indigenous peoples of Northern BC.

Search the Archives

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed 12:30 PM-1:00 PM daily
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays
Appointments Recommended

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)

Overview

This guide highlights the materials in the Northern BC Archives that feature First Nations and indigenous peoples. Many of these collections were not created by indigenous peoples but are about indigenous peoples (as in the research and government records collections) or feature indigenous peoples (as in the photograph and oral history collections). The collections featured here are not the extent of the materials on First Nations and indigenous peoples in the Northern BC Archives but are the archive's main collections. 

The Special Collections have around a thousand published materials such as books, maps, videos, and other materials pertaining to First Nations and indigenous peoples in British Columbia and across the Pacific Northwest. Browse or search Special Collections holdings to find more resources.

The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship

The Office of Graduate Research, with the generous assistance of an anonymous donation, is pleased to announce the creation of The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship. Up to two awards per year with a value of $2,500 each will be awarded to full-time UNBC graduate students in any discipline who are pursuing archival research at the Northern BC Archives for their graduate thesis or project.

Check out our scholarship page or brochure for more information:

Applications accepted: October 15, 2019 to March 1, 2020

Application Instructions: Applicants must apply online through their "myUNBC" portal. Applicants must provide a detailed description of their research proposal including an in-depth explanation as to which archival materials from the NBCA they are interested in researching.

For additional information and criteria, please see the UNBC Scholarship, Bursary, and Awards Guide for the scholarship.

Apply now!