Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Listed below are the names of databases associated with field of Accounting. Each of the titles listed below are hyperlinked to the resource title in the library catalogue to provide you with easy access, as well as a brief description of the resource and its uses.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. The database offers full text from 11,200 sources including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals, country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch, detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies as well as Bernstein's White and Black Book series with financial information.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Canadian Business & Current Affairs is a comprehensive bibliographic full text reference and current events database. Information is available from a broad range of Canadian sources with the database containing over 4 million records. Subjects covered are current events, business, science, the arts, and Canadian academic information. Full text is available from over 750 journals with indexing for an additional 800 periodicals and daily news sources.
CPA Canada standards and guidance collection
The CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection contains guidelines and recommendations on general accounting specific and specialized accounting as well as not-for-profit accounting. It also houses the abstracts of the Emerging Issues Committee assurance recommendations and guidelines and the EDP auditing guideline.
International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) provides a single set of high quality global accounting standards that require transparent and comparable information in general purpose financial statements.
Tax suite premium
CICA's Tax Suite Premium package includes Income tax GST/HST and Provincial Tax databases as well as daily news updates.
Search the library catalogue to find books on the particular area of accounting you are looking for. Use 'and' to connect your terms to narrow your search (ie accounting AND ethics). You can do keyword searches as well as subject searches, which utilize the Library of Congress Subject Headings to locate items on the same subject. Some relevant subject headings include:
These same terms (and more) will work as keyword searches, but you will get many more (and possibly irrelevant) results using a keyword search. Try both and take it from there. If you search any term in the 'subject' field, the catalogue will try to suggest related subjects for you to try, as well as more sub-categories of the subject. Of course, if you know the title or author of a book, you can search the catalogue using those fields as well. For broad categories like accounting, it might also be useful to search for the general subject heading of "accounting" combined with a keyword (or several) using 'and' using the 'advanced keyword search' option.
You can also do an 'advanced keyword search' and restrict the 'material type' to limit your search to a particular format (ie, e-books only).
Created by the University of Waterloo. Provides you with accurate and concise definitions of accounting terms.
Canadian Business Resource
The Canadian Business Resource a.k.a. the "Blue Book" is a Canadian company and business directory. The Blue Book eresource is updated several times per week. The Corporate and Executive Profiles are freely available on the Blue Book website, but the Company records are only available by subscription.
The American equivalent of SEDAR. You will find documents here that companies are required by law to file with the SEC.
Provides relevant and authoritative facts and figures that can easily be translated into charts, graphs, and statistics. The information contained on these webpages has been taken from the WHO, UNESCO, UN, and the CIA World Factbook.
System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval (SEDAR)
Provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA).
Can't find a book or book chapter, article, thesis or dissertation, or multimedia that you need?
If we don't have the item in our collection, you can request it through interlibrary loan at no cost for students.
Collections & Acquisitions Librarian
Drop by the Research Help Desk today!
Have a question? We are available at (250) 960-6475
Text a Librarian
Have a research questions? Text us! (250) 999-0478