Subject Guides: Business: Statistics

Finding Business Related Statistics

Finding statistics is a vital part of the research process. Listed below are the titles of some helpful resources you may wish to consult. Always remember that there is a librarian available to help you should you require assistance!

Some particular Government of Canada and Statistics Canada links of interest are:

Spending Patterns in Canada
Economic and Market Research/Statistics
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada works with Canadians in all areas of the economy and in all parts of the country to improve conditions for investment, enhance Canada's innovation performance, increase Canada's share of global trade and build a fair, efficient and competitive marketplace.

Below are examples on how to find information on Canadian Industry Statistics.

Finding Canadian Industry Statistics by Industry
- Under the drop down menu of the "Just for Business" Tab, click on "Find statistics & research".
- Click on "Find Statistics by Industry"
- Hint: You can find Canadian Industry information on NAICS codes, Establishments, Financial Performance Data, and retail revenues & expenses.
Comparing your business to the entire industry as a whole
- Under the drop down menu of the "Just for Business" Tab, click on "Find statistics & research".
- Click on "compare your Business to the industry as a whole".
- Hint: You will find information on Financial Performance Data here.

Some other data resources include:

BC stats This link opens in a new window
Open Access to a wide range of BC demographic, economic, labour, and social statistics as well as reports based on those statistics. Links to other sources of BC statistical information are also provided.

Click on "Statistics by Subject" Tab
In the drop down menu, click on your desired concepts related to British Columbia

CANSIM @ CHASS This link opens in a new window
Online platform for access to Statistics Canada time series data relating to topics such as labor, manufacturing, construction, trade, agriculture and finance. Selected demographic and social data, such as population estimates and vital statistics, are also available.

An example how to use this system is to:
- Click on "Retail and wholesale"
- Click on "Retail sales by type of project"
- Click on Table # "080-0009".

Rich Data Services from Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Rich Data Services (RDS) is Statistics Canada's analytical platform for Public Use Microdata files (PUMFs) and their metadata. The RDS Explorer and Tabulation Engine's user-friendly interfaces allow users to browse, interact, and download data and metadata for online or offline analysis.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of market and consumer data from wide range of sources: government, NGOs, industry, marketing and trade groups.

Trade Data Online (Industry Canada)
Customized reports on Canada's trade in goods with over 200 countries. Data may be viewed as a chart or table, or they may downloaded as a .csv file.
UNdata
A data access system to UN databases. The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
World Economic Outlook Database (IMF)
Times series country data. Includes national account, inflation, population, and balance of payment data. Data may be downloaded as a .csv file.

Investment and Security Analysis Data

Business source complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database covering topics related to business. Includes market, industry and SWOT analysis reports, studies, and other business news.
EDGAR This link opens in a new window
Open Access database of filings from publicly traded companies. Provided by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, to assist users to analyze market context and identify future trends impacting businesses globally.
SEDAR This link opens in a new window
Open Access database of filings from publicly traded companies. Provided by the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA).
Statista This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of market and consumer data from wide range of sources: government, NGOs, industry, marketing and trade groups.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Includes market data and company intelligence on public and private companies.

How to Download Company Data from S&P Capital IQ: Examples

CRSP 1925 US stock database
Contains various data on US securities from NYSE AMEX and Nasdaq. Both monthly and daily data are included for each index: NYSE monthly Dec. 1925- NYSE daily July 1962- AMEX monthly and daily July 1962- Nasdaq monthly and daily Dec. 1972-

How to Download Stock Data from CRSP: Example

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Includes market data and company intelligence on public and private companies.

How to Download Stock Market Index Data from S&P Capital IQ: Example

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Includes market data and company intelligence on public and private companies.

How to Download Industry Data from S&P Capital IQ: Example

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, to assist users to analyze market context and identify future trends impacting businesses globally.