Subject Guides: Business: Course Specific Information

COM 302: Entrepreneurship

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing comprehensive data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers.

A video on how to use the updated category tree can be found on the Passport GMID webpage by clicking the "Help" tab and watching the "Getting Started with Passport" video.

Canadian census analyser @ CHASS This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Census Analyser provides access to the following Canadian census profile data: 1981-2011 at the dissemination/enumeration area, census subdivision, and census division levels 1961-2011 at the census tract level and 1991-2011 at the federal electoral district, provincial/territorial, and Canada levels. The following National Household Survey (NHS) profile data is also included: 2011 at the dissemination area, census tract, census subdivision, census division, federal electoral district, forward sortation area, Canada, and provincial/territorial levels. The Canadian Census Analyser also provides access to 1971-2006 Census of Canada public use microdata files (PUMFs). Output formats for census and NHS data: html, CSV, MS Excel ready, SAS, and SPSS
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global industry statistics database that aggregates content from other sources as well as conducts independent market research. The data included in this resource includes industry information, consumer data, company profiles, financials, and more.

CANSIM @ CHASS This link opens in a new window
CANSIM contains more than 1.2 million time series covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life, including topics data relating to such topics as the system of national accounts, labor, manufacturing, construction, trade, agriculture and finance. Selected demographic and social data, such as population estimates and vital statistics, are also available.

An example how to use this system is to:
- Click on "Retail and wholesale"
- Click on "Retail sales by type of project"
- Click on Table # "080-0009".

Rich Data Services from Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Rich Data Services (RDS) is Statistics Canada's analytical platform for Public Use Microdata files (PUMFs) and their metadata. The RDS Explorer and Tabulation Engine's user-friendly interfaces allow users to browse, interact, and download data and metadata for online or offline analysis.
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Statistics Canada is Canada's national statistics agency. Its web site provides access to a wide range of Canadian statistics, statistical publications, and analytical reports.

BC stats This link opens in a new window
BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. Its web site provides access to a wide range of BC demographic, economic, labour, and social statistics as well as reports based on those statistics. Links to other sources of BC statistical information are also provided.

Click on "Statistics by Subject" Tab
In the drop down menu, click on your desired concepts related to British Columbia

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada works with Canadians in all areas of the economy and in all parts of the country to improve conditions for investment, enhance Canada's innovation performance, increase Canada's share of global trade and build a fair, efficient and competitive marketplace.

Below are examples on how to find information on Canadian Industry Statistics.
- Finding Canadian Industry Statistics by Industry
  - Under the drop down menu of the "Just for Business" Tab, click on "Find statistics & research".
  - Click on "Find Statistics by Industry"
  - Hint: You can find Canadian Industry information on NAICS codes, Establishments, Financial Performance Data, and retail revenues & expenses.
- Comparing your business to the entire industry as a whole
  - Under the drop down menu of the "Just for Business" Tab, click on "Find statistics & research".
  - Click on "compare your Business to the industry as a whole".
  - Hint: You will find information on Financial Performance Data here.

COM 303: Intro to International Business

Europa World Year Book
Reference book. Provides overviews of countries, including recent history, government structure, and statistical information.

General Information

Travel Reports & Warnings (Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada)
Basic country information, including safety and security, local laws and customs, entry requirements, health conditions, and travel warnings.
World Factbook (CIA)
Statistical and some textual information related to geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
Country Profiles (Library of Congress)
Includes history, geog, society, econ, trans & telecommunications, gov & politics, and national security. More countries covered in Country Studies at http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html, but not as current as Country Profiles.

Business-related Information

Doing Business (World Bank)
Click on "Rankings." Can access country summaries from rankings table. (Click on name of country under "Economy.") Note the "Download country report" links in summaries.
Country Commercial Guides
annual guides prepared by U.S. embassies which present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis.

Culture-related Information

Country Insights (Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada)
Detailed cultural information by country.
International Business Center
Click on country name on the left-hand side of the screen for Hofstede Dimensions. Click on country name on the lower right-hand side of the screen for Business Etiquette. Search the UNBC Library catalogue by Author for books by Hofstede.
World Business Culture
The site pulls together in-depth, country-focused information on such diverse commercial issues as business culture, accountancy and tax, directors duties and company formation, market entry considerations and much, much more.

United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)
Click on Country Profiles for selected key data, or click on Countries under Metadata to access all tables for a particular country. The latter data may be downloaded as a .csv file.
World Economic Outlook Database (IMF)
Times series country data. Includes national account, inflation, population, and balance of payment data. Data may be downloaded as a .csv file.
Trade Data Online (Industry Canada)
Customized reports on Canada's trade in goods with over 200 countries. Data may be viewed as a chart or table, or they may downloaded as a .csv file.

Canadian newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database provides full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in a variety of Canadian newspapers, many with extensive backfiles. Database content is updated daily.

Canadian Newspapers
List of links to home pages of Canadian newspapers.
Financial Post
Financial Post home page. Note the Search Financial Post... box, which searches both the Financial Post and the National Post.

COM 321: Investments & Security Analysis

Business source complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database offers full text from 11,200 sources including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals, country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch, detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies as well as Bernstein's White and Black Book series with financial information.
EDGAR This link opens in a new window
EDGAR is a database of registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms filed by foreign and American companies.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing comprehensive data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers.
SEDAR This link opens in a new window
SEDAR is the official site that provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA).
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global industry statistics database that aggregates content from other sources as well as conducts independent market research. The data included in this resource includes industry information, consumer data, company profiles, financials, and more.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ provides current and historical information on global company information and market research.

Capital IQ Training
Training videos provided by S&P
Overview of Capital IQ
Overview of how to use the database from Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

How to Download Company Data from S&P Capital IQ: Examples

CRSP 1925 US stock database
Contains various data on US securities from NYSE AMEX and Nasdaq. Both monthly and daily data are included for each index: NYSE monthly Dec. 1925- NYSE daily July 1962- AMEX monthly and daily July 1962- Nasdaq monthly and daily Dec. 1972-

How to Download Stock Data from CRSP: Example

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global industry statistics database that aggregates content from other sources as well as conducts independent market research. The data included in this resource includes industry information, consumer data, company profiles, financials, and more.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ provides current and historical information on global company information and market research.

How to Download Stock Market Index Data from S&P Capital IQ: Example

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ provides current and historical information on global company information and market research.

How to Download Industry Data from S&P Capital IQ: Example

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing comprehensive data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers.

How to Download Industry Data from Passport GMID: Example

Canadian Industry Statistics
Analyses on Industry Canada site using most recent Statistics Canada data.

How to Download Industry Data from Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS): Example

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global industry statistics database that aggregates content from other sources as well as conducts independent market research. The data included in this resource includes industry information, consumer data, company profiles, financials, and more.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ provides current and historical information on global company information and market research.

How to Download Economic Data from S&P Capital IQ: Example

Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Statistics Canada is Canada's national statistics agency. Its web site provides access to a wide range of Canadian statistics, statistical publications, and analytical reports.