Think about the information you are seeking for your assignment. You are looking for research papers on the effects of smart beds in a hospital setting.
Where will you look? How will you search? How will you choose?
The type of information you are searching for will determine where you need to search for it.
A database is a searchable collection of journals and other scholarly materials. There are two main types: subject-specific databases (such as MEDLINE or CINAHL) and multidisciplinary databases (such as Academic Search Complete). Many databases contain full text material, some only the reference and abstract.
Government websites (like health authorities and departments) have valuable information that may help inform your topic. These types of sources are called grey literature sources. Grey literature refers to publications that have not been published via traditional journal publication methods. Although they have not been peer-reviewed they can still be incredible valuable.
Sometimes locating this information can be tricky. You may have to use the search feature on a website to locate the document you are seeking.
Brainstorming Keywords The words you type into the search box affect your search results. Not all authors use the same language to describe similar topics, so you will need to try a variety of searches.
Patient safety relating to smart bed use.
| Concepts | Synonyms | |
| smart bed* | OR | smart hospital bed* OR smart medical bed* OR equipped care bed* |
| AND | ||
| patient safety | OR | fall* OR bedsore* OR pressure ulcer* |
Note the use of the * after certain words. This tells the database that you would like to find "bed" as well as "beds."
Here is what the search looks like in CINAHL:
Click here to view the results in CINAHL and try your own.
Try the search in MEDLINE and Academic Search Complete to see if you get different results.
Do you have other words you think are better for the search? Try them out!
You will need to consider the criteria required for your assignment when selecting the paper you will synthesis.
Some considerations:
Is this paper a research paper or is it an opinion piece?
Is it published in an academic journal?
Does it deal with the effect of a smart bed on a patient?
You can add filters to limit your results to articles published in academic journals by using the "Source Type" filter in the left hand column. Select the checkbox for "Academic Journals." Depending on the database you are using, you may also be able to limit to peer reviewed articles, english language, or full text available.
Critical appraisal is the careful analysis of a study to assess trustworthiness, relevance and results of published research. Here are some tools to guide you.
Appraising Grey Literature:
Knowledge translation (KT) is defined as a dynamic and iterative process that includes synthesis, dissemination, exchange and ethically-sound application of knowledge to improve the health of Canadians, provide more effective health services and products and strengthen the health care system. This process takes place within a complex system of interactions between researchers and knowledge users which may vary in intensity, complexity and level of engagement depending on the nature of the research and the findings as well as the needs of the particular knowledge user. Courtesy of CIHR
How knowledge is translated depends on the intended audience.
As a nurse you will receive information about research in many ways. Your clinical educator may prepare an infographic to explain a new research finding that informs your practice. You may see a social media post highlighting something new about how to treat a condition. You may attend a "lunch and learn" to find out how the unit is adapting their practice to meet a new standard.
Michael Smith Health Research BC has information about the importance of knowledge translation. Click through the resources to find helpful information on sharing knowledge in different contexts.
