Subject Guides: Nursing: NURS 304

Library Workshop: Asking Questions and Finding the Evidence

SLIDES
HANDOUTS

Slides September 9 2024

Boolean Operators
Tips for using boolean operators when searching databases
Truncation and Wildcards
Tips for using wildcard symbols and truncation when searching EBSCO databases

CINAHL complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides full text for almost 1,400 current nursing and allied health journals & other publications dating back to 1937. Indexing and abstracts are available for over 5,300 journals. This database covers nursing (including 50 nursing specialities), biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health & 17 allied health disciplines.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE® (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains approximately 12 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Articles cover topics in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR®.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Medline with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for almost 1,400 medical journals indexed in MEDLINE, with coverage dating back to 1965.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Access to PubMed is free and unrestricted.

Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large multidisciplinary resource that includes the full text for most of the publications in its index.
ILL: allowed for non-commercial libraries only
EBM reviews This link opens in a new window
EBMR, a definitive resource in evidence based medicine, combines four resources into one database: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), ACP Journal Club, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Native health database This link opens in a new window
The Native Health Database focuses on the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. It includes citations and abstracts of health-related articles, surveys, reports, and other resource documents.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles provides full text access to articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations since 1987. This resource covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.

TRIP Database
Trip medical database, a smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence.

APA Guides

The American Psychological Association's (APA) citation style is most commonly used for health-related disciplines.

For further assistance on citing sources, visit Citation Styles.

You can review the print guide: Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA style

Here are a few online resources to help you with citing your sources via APA style:

APA 7th Ed. Style Guide
Helpful information on citations, references, and paper formatting
APA Style Guide
Purdue Online Writing Lab - based on the latest version of the APA Publication Manual, 7th Edition.
Citing Indigenous Elders & Knowledge Keepers in APA
From North Island College Library
Note: Based on the 7th Edition of the APA Style Guide.
UNBC Academic Success Centre: Writing Resources
Please see the APA guides

Librarian

Terri McKellar

she/her

Email Me