Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About Us: Mandate

Mandate

The mandate of the Northern BC Archives is to acquire, preserve and provide access to  materials of permanent value related to the institutional history and development of UNBC and its institutes and to acquire, preserve and provide public access to archival materials of value related to the history and culture of Northern British Columbia.  The Archives serves research and scholarship by making these records available to researchers, university personnel, students, faculty and the general public. 

History of Northern BC Archives & Special Collections

Northern BC Archives & Special Collections is an administrative unit of the Geoffrey Weller Library located on the 4th floor of the Library Building.  In February 1992 informal discussions began regarding the establishment of an archives to preserve the University’s history. In 1996 a committee drafted “The Plan for a UNBC Archives” that expanded on these ideas and outlined the need to establish an archives of Northern BC that would preserve, acquire and provide access to public and private records related to the history and culture of Northern BC. The position of Archivist was created and the Northern BC Archives was officially opened on November 22, 2000.

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays

Northern BC Archives & Special Collections is open for virtual research requests during COVID. Email us at archives@unbc.ca with your queries or to set up a virtual research assistance appointment.

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)