Skip to main content

About Us: Privacy

Privacy Statement

How Northern BC Archives & Special Collections manages personal information is governed by the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, called FIPPA for short. The University, its employees, service providers and volunteers share a legal obligation to protect personal information in the custody or under the control of the University of Northern British Columbia. All must comply with the Act's privacy rules and regulations whenever third party personal information is entrusted to the University’s care. The UNBC Information Governance Officer is available to assist staff with advice and support in matters relating to FIPPA.

Your Privacy When You Contact Us

Email sent to archives@unbc.ca will be processed through the library's ticketing software LibAnswers. This software is hosted by a third-party company (Springshare LLC) in Toronto, Ontario. Springshare's privacy policies are available here. Northern BC Archives & Special Collections takes precautions to protect the personal data you provide in order for us to address your questions and assist you with your research. By using this service, you are consenting to the transfer of your information to LibAnswers when you make an information request and accept any risk to your privacy associated with disclosing your personal information to a third party service. UNBC does not guarantee the security of your information when you are using third party services. Your questions and our answers will be used and stored by the university to allow aggregate analysis of trends and to enhance customer support to regular users. If you have questions or concerns, please contact the Interim Head Archivist, Erica Hernandez-Read at Erica.Hernandez-Read@unbc.ca or 250-960-6603.

Access to Archival Records Containing Personal Information

If you wish access to records held by Northern BC Archives & Special Collections to do historical or statistical research and the records contain personal information, you may submit an Application and Research Agreement for Access to Restricted Records for Research or Statistical Purposes requesting access to those records. This procedure applies to historical records which have been transferred to the ownership and control of the Archives. See our Archives 101 page for more information. 

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed 12:30 PM-1:00 PM daily
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays
Appointments Recommended

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)