Skip to main content

Early 20th Century Settlers and Ghost Towns of Northern BC

Northern BC Archives collections on early 20th century settlers and ghost towns in Northern BC.

Using an item from the archives?

A credit line must be given for the publication, exhibition, presentation, or use of reproductions from the NBCA. Credit line to be written in the manner as follows:

Northern BC Archives, UNBC Accession No. ______.

Black and white photo of a fishing boat loaded with fish for the canneryNorthern BC Cannery Communities

Includes two photograph collections from 1900 to 1933 featuring various cannery communities in Northern BC. Image: 2009.10.2.094 - A fishing boat loaded with fish for the cannery

Aerial photo of Clinton Creek Mine

Cassiar

The Cassiar Asbestos Mining Corporation (CAMC) & Cassiar Townsite Collection (1952-1992) records the complete history of the mine and townsite from early explorations and development to bankruptcy and abandonment. Image: 2000.1.1.3.20.1 - Clinton Creek Mine

Letter

Barkerville Gold Rush

The John McCormick Collection (1869) consists of consists of two letters written by John McCormick to a friend describing his experiences in Barkerville and the gold mining conditions on Williams Creek. Image: 2001.1.1.1 - John McCormick Cariboo Letter December 11, 1869

Shops along Shore at Port Essington, BCPort Essington

Includes two collections on Port Essigton from ca. 1870-1986 and ca. 1897 consisting of photographs, copies of lot plans, a blueprint of the townsite of Port Essington. Image: 2006.45.11 - Shops along Shore at Port Essington, BC

Special Collections Further Reading