Skip to main content

Early 20th Century Settlers and Ghost Towns of Northern BC

Northern BC Archives collections on early 20th century settlers and ghost towns in Northern BC.

Search the Archives

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed 12:30 PM-1:00 PM daily
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays
Appointments Recommended

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)

Overview

Old letterThe Northern BC Archives has many collections showing early settlers in Northern BC through the photograph collections of settlers in Fort Fraser ca. 1914 and Central Interior, Cariboo, Chilcotin, and southeast BC from 1907-1920 as well as collections on salmon cannery towns, Gold Rush towns, and mining towns that were once thriving communities but are now no longer populated. Most of these materials are photographs depicting people and daily life. There are textual materials from Barkerville in 1869 describing experiences of gold mining and textual materials on the townsite of Port Essington beginning in ca. 1870. The most extensive collection from a ghost town is that of Cassiar with more than 1625 bankers boxes of textual materials, maps, photographs, etc. describing all aspects of the mining town from its very beginnings to abandonment.

The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship

The Office of Graduate Research, with the generous assistance of an anonymous donation, is pleased to announce the creation of The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship. Up to two awards per year with a value of $2,500 each will be awarded to full-time UNBC graduate students in any discipline who are pursuing archival research at the Northern BC Archives for their graduate thesis or project.

Check out our scholarship page or brochure for more information:

Applications accepted: October 15, 2019 to March 1, 2020

Application Instructions: Applicants must apply online through their "myUNBC" portal. Applicants must provide a detailed description of their research proposal including an in-depth explanation as to which archival materials from the NBCA they are interested in researching.

For additional information and criteria, please see the UNBC Scholarship, Bursary, and Awards Guide for the scholarship.

Apply now!