Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prince George History

Includes materials on the local history of Prince George in the Northern BC Archives

Corless Funeral Ledger

Image of the cover of the Corless Funeral Record and Ledger

Richard (Dick) Corless came to Prince George in 1913 from England, where upon he became an undertaker and a car dealer. He operated his funeral home business at the corner of Quebec and Fourth Avenue in Prince George. All of the funerals that he performed were recorded in a ledger, including deaths by the influenza pandemic of 1918. Mr. Corless transferred his business to Assman’s Funeral home in 1931 and his ledger remained with a family member who subsequently donated it to the BC Archives.

The Prince George Genealogical Society became aware of the ledgers’ existence, and a member viewed it in the BC Archives in Victoria. In July 2007 the Corless Ledger, was transferred from BC Archives to the Northern BC Archives and Special Collections at UNBC. Subsequently, this ledger was digitized and these images were lent to the Prince George Genealogical Society for transcription.

This funeral ledger consists of significant information on deaths in Prince George, BC, from the years 1916 to 1931. The ledger contains personal information regarding individuals who have died, including their name, cause of death, age, residence, ethnicity and the date of their death. The ledger also contains information regarding payment for caskets or other funeral arrangements.​

Dr. D. B. Lazier Record of Confinements from Sept. 1901

Page from Dr. Lazier's Record of ConfinementsDr. D. B. Lazier Record of Confinements from Sept. 1901 - 2018.05

Dr. David Brownlee Lazier was a regional doctor in central BC. He was born in Ontario in 1870 and eventually moved to BC and built a small, three-bed hospital – known as Lazier’s Hospital – in South Fort George in the early 1910s and but later moved his practice to Burns Lake and then to Francois Lake ca. 1921. Dr. Lazier died in 1931.

This journal by Dr. Lazier consists of his obstetric notes on pregnancies, childbirths, infant deaths, and maternal deaths during his practice from 1901 through 1918 and 1922 through 1930. Some of the locations and regions covered in the journal include: Prince George/Fort George and the surrounding area, Nakusp, Arrowhead, Beaton, Camborne, Princeton, Fraser Lake, Burns Lake, Grayson (Saskatchewan), Neville (Saskatchewan), Ranfurly (Alberta), Minburn (Alberta), etc.


Related Reading