Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Northern BC Archives: Reproductions

COVID-19 Temporary Digitization Service Plan

Scope This Temporary Digitization Service Plan applies to reproduction and digitization of Northern BC Archives & Special Collections materials during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.
Digitization Service Overview In continued support of the research objectives of UNBC faculty, staff, students, and the general public, NBCA patrons may request digitization of NBCA Archives and Special Collections material. This service will be provided on a first-come, first-served basis as staffing resources allow.
Conditions Materials requested for digitization must meet the following conditions:
  • Must be free from privacy, copyright, and other rights encumbrances
  • Must be able to be safely digitized using in-house NBCA digitization equipment
  • Extent of requested material must not exceed reasonable staffing capacity to digitize
Fees Reproduction fees for research or personal use will be waived. 
Reproduction fees will still apply for digitization requests for commercial purposes. See below for details.
Making a Request
  • Requests for reproductions must be made via email to archives@unbc.ca. An NBCA Archivist will reply to your request as soon as possible.
  • Items requested via email will be individually assessed, based on the above conditions.
  • Reproduction requests for commercial use require the completion of the NBCA reproduction form, available here.
  • If requested reproductions of Special Collections items are determined to suitable for lending, patrons will be referred to the NBCA Temporary Lending Service Plan.
File Delivery Turn-around time for digitization services will depend on queue and extent of material requested.
Digitized files will be delivered to the patron via email and/or Sync.com.
Credit
  • A credit line must be given for the publication, exhibition, presentation, or use of archival reproductions from the NBCA. At a minimum, the following information should be included: Northern BC Archives, UNBC Accession Number. See below for details.
  • Additional information about citing archival and special collections materials is available here.

Requesting Reproductions

To obtain reproductions of item(s) in our holdings, please refer to the Schedule of Fees for Archival Reproductions. For this cost we will provide high quality digital reproductions that we can send digitally or can be picked up in person with a USB key or other portable digital storage device. At this time, we only accept payments via cash or cheque.

To place a request, complete the Reproduction Agreement listed below.

Conditions of Reproduction

  • Reproductions will be handled through the NBCA at the advertised rate of the service provider. Additional charges for handling & shipping may apply.
  • Reproduction may be refused due to donor restriction or copyright law violation or due to fragility of the material.
  • If a master copy is created, this copy remains the property of, and in the custody of, the NBCA.
  • The NBCA makes no representations or warranties regarding the origin, authenticity, authorship, or ownership of materials and the User assumes full responsibility for any infringement of copyright and for publication rights of reproductions.
  • A User may not further duplicate reproductions for sale, or for subsequent use, without written agreement with the NBCA and the payment of any applicable fees.
  • Unless authorized in writing by the NBCA, and noted in the credit line, the User may not alter a reproduction in any way (including, without limitation, colouring, transposing, superimposing or cropping) that results in significant changes to material or to its meaning or context, or in any way that compromises the material’s authenticity.

Commercial Use of Reproductions

The User may not use reproductions for any commercial use other than with the permission of the NBCA and subject to payment of a User fee per image. Commercial use includes publishing, webpage design, video production, broadcasting, self copy, exhibits, product presentations, interior design, advertising, or similar commercial use, including for-profit work done by consultants or commercial design firms on behalf of government agencies or non-profit institutions. Fees are for one-time and non-exclusive use and are in addition to any reproduction & handling charges.

Using an image from the archives?

A credit line must be given for the publication, exhibition, presentation, or use of reproductions from the NBCA. Credit line to be written in the manner as follows:

Northern BC Archives, UNBC Accession No. ______.

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays

Northern BC Archives & Special Collections is open for virtual research requests during COVID. Email us at archives@unbc.ca with your queries or to set up a virtual research assistance appointment.

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)