Skip to main content

Northern BC Archives: Home

Ask an Archivist

Northern BC Archives  & Special Collections's picture
Northern BC Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Hours of Service:
Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM-4:30 PM
Closed 12:30 PM-1:00 PM daily
Closed Weekends & Statutory Holidays
Appointments Recommended

Location: UNBC Prince George
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
4th Floor (Room 5-423)

Archives Staff

Erica Hernandez-Read, MAS
Interim Head Archivist
Email: Erica.Hernandez@unbc.ca
Tel: 250-960-6603

Kim Stathers, MAS, MLIS
Archivist
Email: Kim.Stathers@unbc.ca
Tel: 250-960-6644

Sarah Giesbrecht, MAS, MLIS, MA
Project Archivist
Email: Sarah.Giesbrecht@unbc.ca
Tel: 250-960-6602

Florence Smith
Archives Assistant
Email: Florence.Smith@unbc.ca
Tel: 250-960-5592

UNBC Northern BC Archives Logo

Search the Archives

New Digital Collections

Log raft guided through log boom by a boom boat and workman

Digitized photos, maps, and diagrams from the Columbia Cellulose Company, Limited fonds

Image: 2012.05.01.03.01 - Log raft guided through log boom by a boom boat and workman

Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project

Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project

Listen to the life stories of residents of the Upper Fraser communities. These forestry-based settlements thrived in the early 20th century, but as forestry practices changed so did the land and people of the Upper Fraser.

2007.1.30.2.147 - Forest Service ranger station at Aleza Lake

Digitized photos from the Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds 2007.1

Image: 2007.1.30.2.147 - Forest Service ranger station at Aleza Lake

2007.1.25.4.09 - The Results of Stand Treatment in the White Spruce Alpine Fir Type of the Northern Interior of British Columbia

Digitized reports from the Aleza Lake Research Forest fonds 2007.1

Image: 2007.1.25.4.09 - The Results of Stand Treatment in the White Spruce Alpine Fir Type of the Northern Interior of British Columbia

2009.10.3.48 - Drying nets on the racks at Nass Harbour Cannery

Digitized photos from the Fred Jeffery Photograph Collection 2009.10

Image: 2009.10.3.48 - Drying nets on the racks at Nass Harbour Cannery

Sunday in Camp, Giscome Portage

Digitized photos from the Arthur Holland Land Surveying Collection 2014.10

Image: 2014.10.1.111 - Sunday in Camp, Giscome Portage, 1910

Browse Our Collections

Old book cover
Special
Collections
Page with typescript text
Archival
Collections
Black and white photo 4 mountaineers in the snow
Photographs
 
Map of BC
  Maps  
 
Image of 8 cassette tapes
  Audio  
 
VHS tape
  Video  
 
Northern BC Digital Collection

News

"Archives are adapting to an era of digitization and decolonization"

Northern BC Archives & Special Collections has been featured the University Affairs article "Archives are adapting to an era of digitization and decolonization" by Erika Thorkelson (Sept. 18, 2019). 


Congratulations on Your Retirement
Ramona Rose

The Northern BC Archives & Special Collections wishes Ramona Rose a happy retirement. Ramona Rose has worked at the Northern BC Archives & Special Collections from almost the very beginning, starting in 2000 and becoming the head of the Archives and Special Collections at UNBC in 2001. In 2006, thanks to her tireless efforts, our Archives received designation as a Category A cultural institution. She has worked to involve the UNBC community and the wider Northern BC community to preserve and promote the cultures and history of Northern BC. The Northern BC Archives & Special Collections would not be what it is today without her at its helm. Erica Hernandez-Read and Kim Stathers will continue her work in the years to come.


‚ÄčAleza Lake Research Forest fonds

2007.1.25.6.12 - District Officers meeting at Aleza Lake Experimental Station

Northern BC Archives has released a newly digitized archival collection of the historical records of the Aleza Lake Research Forest.

The Aleza Lake Research Forest is a 9000 hectare outdoor research facility and working forest 60 kilometres east of Prince George. The research forest was first established in 1924 and has an ongoing research and forest management legacy that approaches 100 years. Today, the forest is co-operatively managed by UNBC, the BC government, and industry partners, through the non-profit Aleza Lake Research Forest Society. 

The digitized records encompass textual, cartographic and photographic materials documenting BC’s earliest and longest-running experimental research forest in the province. With its experimental plots existing from the 1920s, these records provide a wealth of data for the study of forest research practices in BC. We thank our private foundation donor for the external funding support that made this project possible.

View the collection

Image: 2007.1.25.6.12 - District Officers meeting at Aleza Lake Experimental Station

2009.10.3.29 - 'Drying Oolichan at Fishery Bay' Nass River Valley area, c. 1925

Image: 2009.10.3.29 - 'Drying Oolichan at Fishery Bay' Nass River Valley area, c. 1925 

The Fred Jeffery Collection consists of three photograph albums comprising a total of 303 b&w photographs all dating ca.1924-1933. The subject matter consists primarily of the fishing industry, river & landscapes, salmon cannery images (housing, people, workers, machinery, boats) on the Nass River and North Pacific Coast. Album photographs also include images of the Canadian Pacific Railway in both Vancouver and Sicamous, BC., as well as, images of the Legislative Assembly buildings in Victoria, the 1924 Special Service Squadron ships in Vancouver, early construction of the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, and town overviews of Yokohama, Japan (pre WWII).


Arthur Holland Land Surveying Collection

Image of land surveyor Arthur Holland viewing Northern BC landscape

Image: 2014.10.1.435 - Image of land surveyor Arthur Holland viewing Northern BC landscape. 

The Archives has recently completed the digitization and finding aid project for the Arthur Holland Land Surveying Collection. The collection consists of 475 images, most of which were taken primarily from 1909 to 1915 by Holland while working in the Central Interior of Northern British Columbia.


Prince George Railway & Forestry Museum Collection

2002.1.9.1.035 - Skeena Riverside View of Inspection Train, Grand Trunk Pacific Railway, c. 1912

Image: 2002.1.9.1.035 - Skeena Riverside View of Inspection Train, Grand Trunk Pacific Railway, c. 1912

Access is now available to the records of the Prince George Railway & Forestry Museum, which amounts to over 13 meters of textual, cartographic, photographic materials and ephemera related to diverse aspects of rail operations from railways operating in Northern BC. The majority of this collection contains material created by the Canadian National Railway and its predecessors that spans 100+ years and documents rail transportation history developments.

This project was completed with financial contributions by Canadian National Railway and an anonymous private foundation.


With Thanks

Finding aid creation for the The Fred Jeffery Collection and the Arthur Holland Land Surveying Collection was made possible through the efforts and financial support of both private individuals (Jay Sherwood) and a number of organizations including: The Historical and Biographical Committee of the Association of British Columbia Land Surveyors; Northern Regional Group of British Columbia Land Surveyors; Underhill Geomatics Ltd., in Memory of Ivan Royan, BCLS; Land Title and Survey Authority of British Columbia; Robert Allen, BCLS (Life Member), CLS (ret.); Chapman Land Surveying Ltd.; Association of British Columbia Land Surveyors Lower Mainland OIP Group; McElhanney Consulting Services Ltd., Kitimat; McElhanney Consulting Services Ltd., Prince George; Scott Pengelly, BCLS; Vector Geomatics Land Surveying Ltd.; Sandra Wards, BCLS, CLS, Peng; Strait Land Surveying Inc.; Steven E. Wong Land Surveying Inc.

Our Mandate

The Northern BC Archives & Special Collections acquires, preserves, and provides access to materials of permanent value that relate to:

  • The institutional history of UNBC
  • The culture and history of Northern British Columbia

We serve research and scholarship by making these records available to researchers, students, faculty, and the general public.

Our Holdings

Our holdings contain materials from 1697 to the present:

  • 33,000 Photographic images
  • 1,000+ Sound and moving image recordings
  • 9,795+ Rare books
  • 2,719 Linear metres of archival materials
  • 500 Artworks from the University Art Collection

Privacy Notice

When you contact us at archives@unbc.ca, your email will be processed through third-party software. Although we take precautions to protect the personal data you provide to us, we cannot guarantee the security of your information when using third-party services. Our full privacy statement with additional details is available here.