The Northern BC Archives contains over 580 linear meters of materials related to the development of natural resources in Northern BC and their environmental impact. A small portion of these materials - usually photographs, reports, and serials - are available digitally. These records cover the history of various natural resource development industries throughout northern BC from 1912 to 2001. These records present a variety of perspectives including those of: companies such as the Cassiar Asbestos Mining Corporation (CAMC) and Northwood Pulp & Timber Limited; businessmen such as Adam Zimmerman; politicians and governments; surveyors; and finally workers in these industries and their families. These extensive collections have had little to any scholarly research attention and are full of original research potential. Browse these pages, visit our website, and contact the archives for more information about these collections.
Much of the history and development of this province is tied to its natural resources of forests, minerals, and fish. We want to further expand our collections to show the importance of natural resource industries as well as their impact on communities to the history of Northern BC. If you, your family, or your organization have materials that could expand this area of our collections, we would love to hear from you. Please visit our page on donations for more information and contact us if you have any questions.
The Office of Graduate Research, with the generous assistance of an anonymous donation, is pleased to announce the creation of The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship. Up to two awards per year with a value of $2,500 each will be awarded to full-time UNBC graduate students in any discipline who are pursuing archival research at the Northern BC Archives for their graduate thesis or project.
Check out our scholarship page or brochure for more information:
Applications accepted: October 15, 2019 to Jul 01, 2020
Application Instructions: Applicants must apply online through their "myUNBC" portal. Applicants must provide a detailed description of their research proposal including an in-depth explanation as to which archival materials from the NBCA they are interested in researching.
For additional information and criteria, please see the UNBC Scholarship, Bursary, and Awards Guide for the scholarship.
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
University of Northern British Columbia
3333 University Way
Prince George, B.C. V2N 4Z9
Circulation: (250) 960-6613
Reference: (250) 960-6475
Regional Services: 1-888-440-3440
(toll free within 250 area code)