Skip to main content

Natural Resource Development and Environmental Impact in Northern BC

This guide highlights the Northern BC Archives collections on natural resource development and environmental impact in Northern BC.

Research Significance

Of research interest to academic researchers including those of environmental history of BC and Canada, the environmental movement in Canada, and the analysis of the scientific impacts of industry development, particularly impacts on rural communities including First Nations communities.

Kemano Completion Project Dispute Collection (1974-2001)

Kemano Completion Project Dispute Collection - 2003.4

This collection consists of 6.3 metres of textual records regarding the Kemano Completion Project collected by four DFO scientists involved in the Department of Fisheries and Oceans review of Alcan’s project. The majority of the material consists of copies of publications related to the scientists’ research and activities, many of which were written or annotated by them, such as reprints of journal articles, draft scientific reports, government publications, and newspaper clippings. Original scientific research records comprise raw data, field notes, memoranda, and draft reports. Records include correspondence regarding the Nechako River court action between DFO, Alcan, and the province and the scientific reports that were created in anticipation of the case. Also includes significant material emanating from the BC Utilities Commission Kemano Completion Project Public Review, such as correspondence, BCUC newsletters and news releases, exhibits and evidence submitted to the review panel, documents produced for the hearings, and final reports.

In addition, collection includes records and publications relating to various other groups affected by the Kemano Completion Project or arising because of it:

  • Cheslatta Carrier Nation
  • The Rivers Defense Coalition 
  • The Nechako Fisheries Conservation Program, the Nechako Watershed Council, the Nechako Environmental Enhancement Fund, and the Nechako River Alliance. Includes records gathered by DFO scientists involved in the Kemano Completion Project Review. Collection donated to Northern BC Archives in 2003 from former DFO scientists Harold Mundie, Don Alderdice, Gordon Hartman, and Cole Shirvell.

BCUC Kemano Completion Project Review Collection (1993-1994)

BCUC Kemano Completion Project Review Collection - 1996.7

Collection consists of material created or received by the British Columbia Utilities Commission for the Kemano Completion Project Review. This material was copied for reference for the Commissioner of the Kemano Completion Project Review, Dr. Peter Larkin. Includes incoming and outgoing correspondence, BCUC documents, information requests from the registered participants in the review, submissions to the public review and community hearings from participants, and exhibits submitted for inclusion in the review.

Includes records of the Kemano public hearings and court case between Alcan, the province, and DFO and provides historical context to the Kemano Complete Project Dispute Collection records.