Skip to main content

Oral Histories of Northern BC

This outlines the oral history collections at the Northern BC Archives.

Bridget Moran

2008.3 - Bridget Moran fonds

This fonds illustrates Bridget Moran’s careers as a writer, a social worker and a social activist primarily within the Prince George region of British Columbia. This fonds also contains records pertaining to her personal relationships with family and friends and her receipt of various honours and awards. Types of records reflective of her career as a writer include: published articles and unpublished manuscripts, drafts and front cover mock-ups, correspondence with editors from Arsenal Pulp Press, grant applications, notebooks, background material, writer’s workshop invitations and overviews, photographs, oral history interviews and transcripts, and VHS recordings of classroom talks given by Bridget Moran, Mary John and Justa Monk re: her publications.

Bridget Moran's oral history interviews can be found throughout her fonds. To find specific files that include oral history interviews try the following advance search

NBCA database advance search "oral history" OR "Oral histories" OR interview* limiting results to Bridget Moran fonds

Restrictions on access: Some files may be restricted, contact archivist for details

Access Finding Aid for details

Marianne (Marika) Ainley fonds

2002.14 - Marianne (Marika) Ainley fonds

Fonds predominately reflects Ainley's research as a professor at the University of Northern British Columbia. Her research is arranged into thirteen subseries. Research material includes: photocopies of publications and archival material, correspondence, bibliographies, research interviews, transcripts, draft manuscripts, photographs, and other records on topics largely concerning women in science and traditional indigenous science and knowledge.

Dr. Ainley's oral history interviews can be found throughout her fonds. To find specific files that include oral history interviews try the following advance searchNBCA database advance search "oral history" OR "Oral histories" OR interview* limiting results to Marianne (Marika) Ainley fonds

Access Finding Aid for details

Restrictions on access: Some files may be restricted, contact archivist for detail

Kent Sedgwick Oral History Collections

J. Kent Sedgwick was a historical geographer active in promoting Prince George history. Sedgwick graduated from the University of Western Ontario and McMaster University. He first came to Prince George in August 1970 to accept the position of geography professor at the College of New Caledonia. He has guest lectured history courses at the University of Northern British Columbia, as well as for meetings held by the Huble Homestead Giscome-Portage Heritage Society. He spent a great deal of time conducting research on the history of Prince George and the Central Interior, and had a large interest in forming the Local History Society. Sedgwick worked on heritage issues as a planner for the City of Prince George. He was awarded the Jeanne Clarke Memorial Local History Award 17 February 1991. He interviewed Warren Meyer, retired Pan American World Airways pilot, for "Pan Am and All That: WWII Aviation in Prince George, British Columbia." He similarly interviewed Trelle A. Morrow, then compiled and edited "Reflections on Architects and Architecture in Prince George, 1950-2000." He edited several works of local history, including a new edition of Reverend Runalls' "A History of Prince George."


2012.13 - Kent Sedgwick fonds

The Kent Sedgwick fonds consists of 5.8 linear meters of textual records relating to his research interests of the history of the Central Interior of British Columbia. Sedgwick was an urban planner with the City of Prince George, as well as one-time instructor in geography at CNC and part time lecturer in Geography at UNBC.

The subject files contain original research notes, research notes from interviews, news clippings, research copies of photos/maps – primarily related to the history and historical geography of the Central Interior of BC, especially Prince George, Giscome and East Line communities covering the period c.1900-c.2010. Research also includes extensive notes on geographic features, landscapes, interpretative trails, architectural history, industrial history and First Nations history of region. Also research notes on Alexander Mackenzie, George Dawson and geographical research related to Northern Alberta.

Restrictions on access: None

Access Finding Aid Please note: Finding Aid incomplete, contact Archivist for details


2007.47 - Trelle Morrow Collection

Includes an audiocassette and a CD copy of an interview conducted by Kent Sedgwick with Trelle Morrow on the history of architectural design in Prince George.

Trelle Morrow, B.A., B. Arch. is a Retired Member of the Architectural Institute of B.C. Mr. Morrow was a graduate of the UBC School of Architecture and established a practice in Prince George in 1956 and worked on many local and northern projects until he retired in 1997.

Restrictions on access: None

Access Finding Aid for more details


2010.7 - Japanese-Internment Oral History Project collection

This collection contains two tapes of interviews by Kent Sedgwick and Megan Heitrich, and one tape by Megan Heitrich alone. Interviews focus primarily upon the Japanese Internment during WWII in the Prince George – Valemount corridor. The interviews are with women who lived near an internment camp during the war, and had some contact with the Japanese men.

The interviewees were selected for having mentioned the Japanese internment in prior interviews: Louisa Mueller and Ruth Cunningham in interviews by the Prince George Oral History Group, and Karlleen Robinson in “A History of Logs and Lumber.” In the Cunningham Interview, Ruth’s daughter Lillian Coulling is also present.

Transcripts available for audio recordings of interviews.

Access Finding Aid for more details

Barry McKinnon

2000.6 - Barry McKinnon fonds

Fonds consists of a large and extended correspondence, manuscript materials (both his own and others), publications, proofs, financial records, transcriptions, audio tapes, lectures and preparation work for teaching. A large quantity of influential (and obscure) periodicals published in the west is also included. Includes material related to Barry McKinnon and The Caledonia Writing Series and Gorse Press. The audio collection consists of cassette and reel to reel tapes of poetry readings and interviews in Prince George and other locations within Canada, including Edmonton, Montreal, and Vancouver. Readings from the 1980 Writing Conference Words/Loves at the College of New Caledonia (CNC) are also included along with many Poetry Readings at CNC during the 1970s to the 1990s. Poets and writers in the audio collection include Barry McKinnon, Ken Belford, Earle Birney, Bill Bissett, George Bowering, Robert Creeley, Brian Fawcett, Gerry Gilbert, Arti Gold, Elizabeth Hay, Roy Kiyooka, Robert Kroetsch, Evelyn Lau, Irving Layton, Dorothy Livesay, Daphne Marlatt, Susan Musgrave, bp Nichol, Michael Ondaatje, Stan Persky, David Phillips, Al Purdy, George Stanley, Sharon Thesen, Fred Wah, and Tom Wayman.

Barry McKinnon's oral history interviews can be found throughout his fonds. To find specific files that include oral history interviews try this advance search for interviews

Restrictions on access: Some files may be restricted, contact archivist for details

Access Finding Aid for details