Skip to main content

Oral Histories of Northern BC

This outlines the oral history collections at the Northern BC Archives.

Stoney Creek and Carrier Sekani Tribal Council

Bridget Moran & Mary John at Book Signing of 'Stoney Creek Woman'Published and Unpublished Materials - 2008.3.1 series from the Bridget Moran fonds - 2008.3 (1957-1998): Bridget Moran was a social worker and author. In 1988 she wrote Sai’k’uz Ts’eke: Stoney Creek Woman: The Story of Mary John based on extensive oral histories that Moran conducted with Mary John about life on the Stoney Creek reserve. Moran’s second book Judgment at Stoney Creek: Sai’k’uz Ne ba na huz’ya, [1990] is based on her account of the inquest into the death of Coreen Thomas and provides an in-depth analysis of tenuous white-native relations in rural BC in the 1970s. Moran’s next book, A Little Rebellion [1992] provides an auto-biographical account of her public dispute with the Bennett government. The book Justa: A First Nations Leader, Dakelhne Butsowhudilhzulh’un [1994] is based on extensive oral interviews Moran conducted with Tl’azt’en Nation member, Justa Monk, who was elected Tribal Chief of the Carrier Sekani Tribal Council.

The Published and Unpublished Material Series consists of newspaper clippings, correspondence, photographs, pamphlets, newsletters, advertisements, contracts, notebooks, audiocassettes of oral interviews and readings, transcripts, book launch announcements, front cover mock-ups, edited drafts, manuscripts, fact sheets, poems, catalogues, bookmarks, skits, conference events programme, poster, grant applications and related correspondence, a wooden placard, handwritten notes, book reviews, inquest reports, background material, VHS recordings of classroom talks given by Bridget Moran, Mary John and Justa Monk re: her publications, and ephemera. This series contains material from all five of her publications as well as unpublished manuscripts and drafts written by Bridget Moran.

Restrictions on access: Some restrictions apply. Contact the archives for details.

Image: 2008.3.1.85.2 - Bridget Moran & Mary John at Book Signing of 'Stoney Creek Woman'

See Bridget Moran in our Oral Histories of Northern BC Guide for search tips. Browse the following search results.

Island Cache

Photograph depicts lane in front of tent buildings flooded with water.Island Cache Recovery Project Collection - 2003.11 (1998-2000): Collection consists of material resulting from Dr. Mike Evan's Island Cache Recovery Project Collection, which includes oral history interviews of former Island Cache (Cottonwood Island) residents on recording media (cassette and VHS) as well as transcripts of the oral histories. Also includes administrative records for the project and photocopies of background research material used for the project, such as Prince George city records, newspaper clippings, photographs, and correspondence. The series on Oral History Interviews - 2003.11.1 consists of the 46 oral histories conducted by the Island Cache Recovery Project. A file exists for each participant in the research project, which includes the original recorded oral history on cassette tape and/or VHS, consent forms for use of the oral history, a written transcript for the oral history, and a digital version of the written transcript.

Restrictions on access: Some restrictions apply. Contact the archives for details.

Image: 2009.5.3.97 - Flooded Railway Camp

Alkali, Red Stone, Kleena Kleene, and Bella Coola Community Recordings 1964-1971

Nedra Jane Paul collection - 2001.15 (1964-1971): Fonds consists of the personal records of Nedra (Ginty) Jane Paul [b. ca.1920-d. 1990]. Personal records include the 1938 Lord Byng High School Annual, 2 teaching certificates, and 1 photograph. Paul worked as a teacher in the Chilcotin and Bella Coola regions of BC and the primary items of the collection are 8 recordings generated by her with members of First Nations Communities at Alkali, Red Stone, Kleena Kleene and Bella Coola from 1964-1971. There are 8 original audio reel to reel recordings (and 2 tapes which are copies of the recordings later created by P.J. Thomas, who accompanied Paul on the interviews). Recordings include stories and songs. 

Restrictions on access: Some items may require further consent due to personal nature of recordings. Consult an archivist for more details.

Prince George Metis Elders Society Recordings

Prince George Metis Elders Oral History Project Collection - 2001.58: Collection consists of oral histories gathered as part of Dr. Mike Evan's oral history project with the Prince George Metis Elders Society. Includes consent forms, transcripts, and the recorded oral histories on their original cassette tapes.

Restrictions on access: Materials are restricted. Contact the archives for access.

North American and Australian indigenous knowledge and science

North American and Australian indigenous knowledge and science - 2002.14.1.09 subseries from the Marianne (Marika) Ainley fonds - 2002.14 (1984-2008): Subseries reflects Dr. Ainley's extensive research on indigenous science and traditional knowledge and how it transferred to European settlers in Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. Much of this research culminated in Dr. Ainley's unfinished monograph project "Re-explorations: new perspectives on gender, environment and the transfer of knowledge in 19th and 20th century Canada and Australia." Material is, predominately, arranged by individual, with files largely consisting of bibliographies, articles and notes about and by the individual on topics related to the environment and interaction with indigenous peoples. Subseries also contains research notes, interviews, and correspondence. As much of Ainley's research focused on women, see subseries on women in science and engineering research (2002.14.1.5) for related materials.

Restrictions on access: Some restrictions apply. Contact the archives for details.