Skip to main content

Oral Histories of Northern BC

This outlines the oral history collections at the Northern BC Archives.

Jack Carbutt Collection

2000.21 - Jack Carbutt Collection

The fonds consists of audio reels and dubbed audio cassettes of a radio programs hosted by Jack Carbutt at CKPG Radio in Prince George, and includes transcriptions in electronic and textual format.

Known in Central British Columbia as "Mr. Radio," Jack E. Carbutt made enormous contributions to the broadcasting history of both Prince George and the province of British Columbia.

Restrictions on access: None

Access Digitized Recordings

Access Finding Aid for more details

Collection includes:

Terry Bell interviews Margaret "Ma" Murray, September 6, 1964, for broadcast by CKPG in Prince George. 2000.21.1.6

Margaret Lally "Ma" Murray, OC (1908-1982) was the wife of publisher and MLA George Murray, and an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Originally from Kansas, "Ma" Murray was co-founder and editor (with her husband George) of the Bridge River-Lillooet News, the Alaska Highway News and other publications.

Bob Harkins Audio Recordings Collection

2002.12, 2006.9 - Bob Harkins Audio Recordings Collections

2002.12 Collection consists of 30 audio cassettes containing 46 interviews conducted primarily by radio & TV broadcaster Bob Harkins with local personalities. Most recordings were conducted at CJCI Studios, Prince George. The station was launched in 1970 by Central Interior Radio, broadcasting on 620 AM. In 1983, Central Interior also launched CIBC-FM in the city. Central Interior Radio was acquired by the Vista Broadcast Group in 2005.

2006.9 Collection consists of recording interviews and research materials generated primarily by Bob Harkins; audio recordings were conducted for radio broadcast on CJCI Radio Station or its affiliates. Also includes video recordings created with Bob Harkins as interviewer or panelist and conducted for broadcast, some with CKPG-TV. Collection also includes video-recordings collected by Bob Harkins related to local and regional subjects of research interest to the creator.

Restrictions on access: Most recordings have no restrictions on access; see individual item level descriptions for specific access issues.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication: Queries regarding reproductions for commercial use will be referred back to CJCI radio station; contact Archivist for reproduction and publication use.

Access 2002.12 and 2006.9 Finding Aids for details

Kent Sedgwick Oral History Collections

J. Kent Sedgwick was a historical geographer active in promoting Prince George history. Sedgwick graduated from the University of Western Ontario and McMaster University. He first came to Prince George in August 1970 to accept the position of geography professor at the College of New Caledonia. He has guest lectured history courses at the University of Northern British Columbia, as well as for meetings held by the Huble Homestead Giscome-Portage Heritage Society. He spent a great deal of time conducting research on the history of Prince George and the Central Interior, and had a large interest in forming the Local History Society. Sedgwick worked on heritage issues as a planner for the City of Prince George. He was awarded the Jeanne Clarke Memorial Local History Award 17 February 1991. He interviewed Warren Meyer, retired Pan American World Airways pilot, for "Pan Am and All That: WWII Aviation in Prince George, British Columbia." He similarly interviewed Trelle A. Morrow, then compiled and edited "Reflections on Architects and Architecture in Prince George, 1950-2000." He edited several works of local history, including a new edition of Reverend Runalls' "A History of Prince George."


2012.13 - Kent Sedgwick fonds

The Kent Sedgwick fonds consists of 5.8 linear meters of textual records relating to his research interests of the history of the Central Interior of British Columbia. Sedgwick was an urban planner with the City of Prince George, as well as one-time instructor in geography at CNC and part time lecturer in Geography at UNBC.

The subject files contain original research notes, research notes from interviews, news clippings, research copies of photos/maps – primarily related to the history and historical geography of the Central Interior of BC, especially Prince George, Giscome and East Line communities covering the period c.1900-c.2010. Research also includes extensive notes on geographic features, landscapes, interpretative trails, architectural history, industrial history and First Nations history of region. Also research notes on Alexander Mackenzie, George Dawson and geographical research related to Northern Alberta.

Restrictions on access: None

Access Finding Aid Please note: Finding Aid incomplete, contact Archivist for details


2007.47 - Trelle Morrow Collection

Includes an audiocassette and a CD copy of an interview conducted by Kent Sedgwick with Trelle Morrow on the history of architectural design in Prince George.

Trelle Morrow, B.A., B. Arch. is a Retired Member of the Architectural Institute of B.C. Mr. Morrow was a graduate of the UBC School of Architecture and established a practice in Prince George in 1956 and worked on many local and northern projects until he retired in 1997.

Restrictions on access: None

Access Finding Aid for more details


2010.7 - Japanese-Internment Oral History Project collection

This collection contains two tapes of interviews by Kent Sedgwick and Megan Heitrich, and one tape by Megan Heitrich alone. Interviews focus primarily upon the Japanese Internment during WWII in the Prince George – Valemount corridor. The interviews are with women who lived near an internment camp during the war, and had some contact with the Japanese men.

The interviewees were selected for having mentioned the Japanese internment in prior interviews: Louisa Mueller and Ruth Cunningham in interviews by the Prince George Oral History Group, and Karlleen Robinson in “A History of Logs and Lumber.” In the Cunningham Interview, Ruth’s daughter Lillian Coulling is also present.

Transcripts available for audio recordings of interviews.

Access Finding Aid for more details

Winnifred Emily Warner Russell Interview

2003.2 - Winnifred Emily Warner Russell Interview

Fonds consists of 1 copy of a typed transcript featuring Winnifred Emily Warner Russell (nee Large) being interviewed by her daughter Bev Christensen. Content of transcript includes the topics of nursing training in Vernon (1923-26) and nursing in Grace Hospital in Vancouver, and General Hospitals in Prince George, Prince Rupert, and Smithers up until 1957.

Restrictions on access: Restricted, contact Archivist for details

Access Finding Aid for details

Island Cache Recovery Project Collection

Collection consists of material resulting from Dr. Mike Evan's Island Cache Recovery Project Collection. Includes oral history interviews of former Island Cache (Cottonwood Island) residents on recording media (cassette and VHS) as well as transcripts of the oral histories. Also includes administrative records for the project and photocopies of background research material used for the project, such as Prince George city records, newspaper clippings, photographs, and correspondence. Digital transcripts of oral histories available.

Dr. Evans completed a BA (1987) in Anthropology at the University of Victoria and an MA (1989) and PhD (1996) in Anthropology from McMaster University. From 1995 to 1998, Evans was an instructor for the Anthrology and First Nations Programs at UNBC. Since then, Dr. Evans has worked at various professorial positions at the University of Alberta and UBC Okanagan. His research interests include rrban Aboriginal issues, Métis history and contemporary issues, and aboriginal communities of Oceania.

Restrictions on access: Some restrictions apply, contact Archivist for details

Access Finding Aid for details

Prince George Metis Elders Oral History Project Collection

2001.58 - Prince George Metis Elders Oral History Project Collection

Collection consists of oral histories gathered as part of Dr. Mike Evan's oral history project with the Prince George Metis Elders Society. Includes consent forms, transcripts, and the recorded oral histories on their original cassette tapes.

Dr. Evans completed a BA (1987) in Anthropology at the University of Victoria and an MA (1989) and PhD (1996) in Anthropology from McMaster University. From 1995 to 1998, Evans was an instructor for the Anthrology and First Nations Programs at UNBC. Since then, Dr. Evans has worked at various professorial positions at the University of Alberta and UBC Okanagan. His research interests include rrban Aboriginal issues, Métis history and contemporary issues, and aboriginal communities of Oceania.

Restrictions on access: Restricted contact Archivist for details

Access Finding Aid for details

Prince George Oral History Group Collection

2000.3, 2001.15, 2003.5, 2006.10, 2007.9, 2007.12, 2008.6, 2008.15 - Prince George Oral History Group Collections

These collections consist of about 100 oral history interviews on various aspects of life in Prince George conducted by volunteer members of the PGOHG. These recordings document various social aspects of Prince George and region's community history including experiences of pioneer teachers, and the history of lawn bowling, etc.

Restrictions on access: Some restrictions apply, contact Archivist for details

Access Finding Aids for details

Prince George Women's Organizations Collection

2006.5 - Prince George Women's Organizations Collection >> 2006.5.6 - Oral History series

Collection consists of records created, received, and collected by the Prince George Women's Centre, the Prince George Women's Collective, the Prince George Women's Equal Rights Association, the Prince George Women's Resource Centre, and the Prince George Women's Connection. This collection also features some materials on the Daughters of Lilith organization.

Restrictions on access: Some restrictions may apply, contact archivist for details

Access 2006.5 Finding Aid for more details

Access 2006.5.6 Finding Aid

UNBC History Audio Recording items

1992.11 - UNBC History Audio Recording items

Fonds consists of 4 audio recordings of interviews related to the opening of the University of Northern British Columbia, including Jean Forsythe, Russ Clinton, John Chapman, and Charlie Lasser. All were interviewed by T. Cattell.

Restrictions on access: None

Access Finding Aid for details