Skip to main content

Oral Histories of Northern BC

This outlines the oral history collections at the Northern BC Archives.

Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project Collection

2017.6 - Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project Collection

The Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project was conducted by UNBC faculty and a team of researchers between 1999 and 2002. The lead researchers were Aileen Espritiu, Gail Fondahl, Greg Halseth, Debra Straussfogel, and Tracy Summerville. The project resulted in the creation of 93 oral history records and their transcripts. Participants included regional forest industry executives, politicians (including former MLA Ray Williston, local mayors and Fraser Fort George Regional District representatives), forest industry workers, and former and contemporary Upper Fraser community residents. The oral histories document the rise, consolidation and demise of the forestry-based settlements along the Upper Fraser River between 1915 and 2000. The original audio cassettes have been digitized and are available in both MP3 and WAV format.

Restrictions on access: Some restrictions apply. Digitized material made available online may be redacted to exclude privacy concerns.

Access Digitized Transcripts

Access Digitized Recordings

Access Finding Aid for details

Archives Speaker Series - March 6, 2018 - Dr. Greg Halseth - "Using Archives to Share Stories of Change in the Upper Fraser Region of Northern BC"

Aleza Lake Research Forest Society

2006.18 - Aleza Lake Research Forest Society fonds >> 2006.18.1 - Historical Information series

Series consists of records created or accumulated by the Aleza Lake Research Forest Society regarding the research forest's history. Includes oral histories and material from long-time personnel that worked at the ALRF, such as Harry Coates, John Revel, and Frank Hellenius. Also contains copies of archival records from other archival institutions that concern the history of ALRF, which were compiled as part of a 2006/2007 history internship project.

Restrictions on access: Some restrictions may apply, contact archivist for details

Access Finding Aid for details

Helen Mustard Collection

2004.24 - Helen Mustard Collection

The Helen Mustard Collection consists of textual records, audiocassettes and copies of publications relating to the history of Mackenzie Townsite and Rocky Mountain Trench region of Northern British Columbia. Extent: More than 9 cm of textual records and 46 audio recordings cassettes

Restrictions on access: Restricted, contact archivist for details

Access Finding Aid for details