Skip to main content

Multicultural Northern BC

Overview

Photograph depicts an asian (likely Japanese or Chinese) couple with a baby, possibly at Nass Harbour.

The Northern BC Archives has some materials related to multiculturalism in Northern BC. This guide consists of a fairly comprehensive presentation of our holdings on this subject. Our collections are constantly growing and we will be adding more pertinent collections to this guide as we receive and process them.


Add to Our Collections

As you browse through the collections presented in this guide, you will see that our holdings showing multiculturalism in Northern BC are very limited. We want to expand our collections to more accurately portray the crucial role people of different ethnicities played in the history of Northern BC. If you, your family, or your organization have materials that could fill this gap, we would love to hear from you.

Please visit our page on donations for more information and contact us if you have any questions.

Image: 2009.10.2.080 - Asian family

The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship

The Office of Graduate Research, with the generous assistance of an anonymous donation, is pleased to announce the creation of The Northern BC Archives Graduate Research Scholarship. Up to two awards per year with a value of $2,500 each will be awarded to full-time UNBC graduate students in any discipline who are pursuing archival research at the Northern BC Archives for their graduate thesis or project.

Check out our scholarship page or brochure for more information:

Applications accepted: October 15, 2019 to March 1, 2020

Application Instructions: Applicants must apply online through their "myUNBC" portal. Applicants must provide a detailed description of their research proposal including an in-depth explanation as to which archival materials from the NBCA they are interested in researching.

For additional information and criteria, please see the UNBC Scholarship, Bursary, and Awards Guide for the scholarship.

Apply now!

Further Reading