Skip to main content

Multicultural Northern BC

Overview

The Northern BC Archives has a a number of materials relating to South Asian people and their history in Northern BC. To find these materials we recommend the following suggested searches: 

India and Sikhismsikh OR punjabi OR "east indian" OR punjab OR india OR sikhism

India and Hinduismhindu OR hindi OR "east indian" OR hinduism OR india

Pakistan and Islampakistan OR urdu OR islam OR muslim

Bangladesh and Islambengali OR bangladesh OR islam OR muslim

Sri Lanka and Buddhism"sri lanka" OR ceylon OR tamil OR sinahlese OR buddha OR buddhist

When formulating your search, consider the historical use of terms used to identify people of the cultural group you are researching. Some of those terms may be considered derogatory today, yet still exist in original archival primary sources. Adding historical terms to your search may unearth additional sources. Change or add in other qualifying words with Boolean Operators OR, AND, or NOT.

Image: 2000.15.1.6 - Ledger

1996.8 Chander Suri fonds

The Chander Suri fonds consists of more than a thousand maps and plans including 19 plans and 5 pages of records regarding the building of the Sikh Temple in Prince George. See accession numbers 1996.8.1.093 through 1996.8.1.111.

Restrictions on access: Some restrictions apply.

2009.6 Iona Campagnolo

The Honourable Iona Campagnolo fonds illustrates her careers as a broadcaster, a theatre producer, community leader, a politician, a feminist, a social activist, a speaker, a lecturer, a Chancellor, an advocate, a consultant and Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia. Types of records reflective of her various careers include: speeches, correspondence, itineraries, contracts, draft manuscripts, newspaper clippings, background material, photographs and ephemera. 

One file of note is the file 2009.6.13.05.05 - Private Sector Inquiries and Information / Associations and Organizations / F-L Names

This file consists of Campagnolo's incoming and outgoing correspondence regarding illegal fishing in British Columbia, Sikh community meetings, teaching salaries, federal funding, and constitutional reform. Also includes a profile of French Canadians in British Columbia, a list of Francophone organizations in BC, a statement on the salmon enhancement program, a pamphlet entitled "Finning Expands Terrace Facilities", poster prints of turn-of-the-century farm equipment from the Finning Company Portfolio of Historical Prints, resolutions adopted by the International Woodworkers of America, resolutions adopted by the Indo-Canadian Sikh Association of Prince Rupert, a newsletter in Punjabi, a submission to the BC Liberal Caucus by the International Woodworkers of America concerning housing, an Indo-Canadian newsletter entitled "Folkfest '74", photocopied newspaper clippings, and a brief by the Kamloops Women's Centre concerning the status of women.

Access File Level Finding Aid

Restrictions on access: Due to the personal nature of some of the information captured in the records of The Honourable Iona Campagnolo, some of these files may be restricted in full or in part. No restrictions on file 2009.6.13.05.05.

Access Fonds Level Finding Aid

2017.6 Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project

The Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project Collection (2017.6) 

The Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project was conducted by UNBC faculty and a team of researchers between 1999 and 2002. The lead researchers were Aileen Espritiu, Gail Fondahl, Greg Halseth, Debra Straussfogel, and Tracy Summerville. The project resulted in the creation of 93 oral history records and their transcripts. Participants included regional forest industry executives, politicians (including former MLA Ray Williston, local mayors and Fraser Fort George Regional District representatives), forest industry workers, and former and contemporary Upper Fraser community residents. The oral histories document the rise, consolidation and demise of the forestry-based settlements along the Upper Fraser River between 1915 and 2000.

One interview of note is that with Doug Frazier and Linda McFarlane (2017.6.2.17) consisting of 1 oral history audiocassette and transcript. During their interview they discuss Sikhs living in the Upper Fraser area (see pages 26-27 in the transcript).

Access Transcripts (keyword searchable)

Access Audio Recordings

Access Finding Aid

2000.1 Cassiar Asbestos Corporation

The Publications series (2000.1.3) of the Cassiar Asbestos Corporation Ltd. fonds (2000.1) consists of news bulletins and newspapers documenting the community and work life of the residents of Cassiar, BC. Content includes text and photographs, as well as jokes, comics and games.

On March 7, 1956 the Cassiar Reporters Guild published one issue of an untitled newspaper simply titled "The Cassiar?" (vol.1, no.1) along with a "name that newspaper" contest call out to the local community. It is believed that no other issue of this first volume was published until December 7, 1957 when The Asbestos Sheet (vol.2, no.1) was published. The Asbestos Sheet, was generally published twice a month and ran from December 1957 to September 1976; after which time both its name and its format changed: the 8-1/2 x 10" news bulletin changing to an 11 x 17" newspaper; and The Asbestos Sheet becoming the Cassiar Courier. The Courier was published monthly from fall 1976 until February 1991 when it stopped circulation shortly before the closure of both the mine and the company town.

Issues of note include: 

  • 2000.1.3.2.140 - Cassiar Courier - May 1990 (click on the newspaper image to access the keyword searchable PDF)
    This issue contains a racist poem called “The New Mountie” on page 24
  • 2000.1.3.2.141 - Cassiar Courier - June 1990
    This issue contains a number of letters to the editor condemning the inclusion of “The New Mountie” racist poem in the previous issue
  • More search results

2000.15 Bullion Mines Collection

Bullion Mines Collection (2000.15): The Bullion Mines, also known as the Bulllion Pit, was a gold mine in Likely, British Columbia that operated from 1892 to 1942. It was associated with the Consolidated Cariboo Hydraulic Mining Company and the South Fork Hydraulic Mine. The objectives of the company were to pursue hydraulic and other processes of mining, to own and construct ditching flumes or other systems of waterways and to acquire and operate, sell or lease mines, minerals, water and waterways. In 1894 the Cariboo Hydraulic Mining Company bought the South Fork Hydraulic and Mining company. Both were dissolved in 1912.

The fonds consists of six company ledgers covering the periods of 1894-1896, 1898-1901, 1904-1905, and 1923-1926 that note expenses for various operations in the mine and in the company owned premises in town. The letters and notes concern the purchase of explosives for the mine and discusses the Consolidated Cariboo Hydraulic Mining Company.

One ledger, 2000.15.1.6 (see above image), is believed to be written in Gurmukhi script. We welcome more information about this document from anyone who is able to read or translate the text.