Aleza Forest. “Percy Barr’s Research Forest Legacy.” Aleza Lake Research Forest, December 7, 2009. http://alrf.unbc.ca/?p=367.
Cox, B. and Cox, S. 2000. 2017.6.1.13 and 2017.6.2.13. Interview and Transcript. Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project Collection. Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George.
Government of British Columbia. “Aleza Lake.” BC Geographical Names. Accessed September 11, 2020. https://apps.gov.bc.ca/pub/bcgnws/names/991.html
Grace, Larry de. “Aleza Lake Forest Experiment Station.” Forest Service Newsletter. November 1949.
“Lheidli Dakelh Dictionary,” April 2020. https://www.billposer.org/LheidliCarrierDictionary/index.html.
MacArthur, E., MacArthur, N., and Ollinger, N. 2000. 2017.6.1.41 and 2017.6.2.41. Interview and Transcript. Upper Fraser Historical Geography Project Collection. Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George.
MacArthur, Ethelwynne. The Way It Was: A History of Aleza Lake. Edited by J. Kent Sedgwick. Prince George, B.C.: Fraser-Fort George Museum Society, 1983.
Mills, David. (2007). "Aleza Lake Forest Experiment Station Socio-Economic Time Line 1905-1937." Aleza Lake Research Forest Society fonds (2006.18.1.12). Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC.
Olson, Raymond W. Ghost Towns on the East Line. Prince George, BC: Raymond W. Olson, 2014.
Parish, Roberta, S. M Thomson, Garth Coward, British Columbia, Ministry of Forests, Canada-British Columbia Partnership Agreement on Forest Resource Development: FRDA II, and Canadian Forest Service. Tree Book: Learning to Recognize Trees of British Columbia. Victoria, B.C.: Canadian Forestry Service, 1994. https://www.for.gov.bc.ca/hfd/library/documents/treebook/TreeBook.pdf
Revel, John. Devil’s Club, Black Flies, and Snowshoes: A History of Aleza Lake Forest Experiment Station 1940s to 1964 (and Beyond). Prince George, B.C: Aleza Lake Research Forest Society and UNBC Press, 2007.
Schmidt, Ralph and John Parminter. An Early History of the Research Branch, British Columbia Ministry of Forests and Range. Technical Report 036. Victoria: British Columbia Ministry of Forests and Range, Research Branch, 2006. http://www.for.gov.bc.ca/hfd/pubs/Docs/Tr/Tr036.htm.
Schmidt, Ralph. The Aleza Lake Experiment Station (1920’s and 1930’s). Victoria: British Columbia Ministry of Forests, 1993.
Stevenson, Susan K., Darwyn Coxson, Bob Drinkwater, M. J. Jull, Art Fredeen, Paul Thomas Sanborn, and John Shultis, eds. British Columbia’s Inland Rainforest: Ecology, Conservation, and Management. Vancouver: UBC Press, 2011.
The Mark of Progress, 1959. 2016.5.3.16.1. Northern BC Archives, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mzR2Fuso2z0.
Tree Bee. “Identify a Tree.” Accessed August 13, 2020. https://treebee.ca/identify-a-tree.
““Work Resumed at Forest Station at Aleza Lake.” Prince George Citizen, May 26, 1927.
The complete digital photograph collection in the Aleza Lake Research Forest Fonds of the Northern BC Archives.
The Aleza Field Education Centre, located within the Aleza Lake Research Forest also known as The Learning Forest. The management and operation of the Forest is devoted to education and research with respect to sustainable forest management, silviculture, and forest ecology.
Set atop a hill looking out over the upper Fraser River area to the north, the AFEC is immersed in the quiet of the working forest, offering a true outdoor experience. Designed to facilitate field courses, research and other training events, the AFEC is also perfect for hosting meetings, retreats, training, school field trips, and other related events.
GO Grants provide field trip grants for British Columbia K-12 classes and schools to help get students outdoors to learn about B.C.’s fish, wildlife, habitats, and biodiversity. GO Grants cover transportation, project materials and or program fees to support student learning and connecting in nature.
The Northern BC Archives & Special Collections acquires, preserves, and provides access to materials of permanent value that relate to:
The Archives serves research and scholarship by making these records available to researchers, students, faculty, and the general public at no cost.
Geoffrey R. Weller Library
University of Northern British Columbia
3333 University Way
Prince George, B.C. V2N 4Z9
Circulation: (250) 960-6613
Reference: (250) 960-6475
Regional Services: 1-888-440-3440
(toll free within 250 area code)