Skip to Main Content

Northern BC Archives: Archives by Subject

Contact Us

Northern BC Archives & Special Collections

Location
3333 University Way
Prince George, BC
4th Floor of UNBC Library

Drop-in Visits
Available only for library books from Special Collections
9:00 am - 12:00 pm, Mon-Fri
Confirm availability: 250-960-5592

Research Appointments
For archival and library research visits
8:30 am - 4:30 pm, Mon-Fri
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Research Help
Archival research assistance
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Reproduction Requests
Digital copies of archival material
Request Form (or)
Email: archives@unbc.ca

Donation Inquiries
Email: archives@unbc.ca
Phone: 250-960-6603
Monetary Donation Form

General Inquiries
Email: archives@unbc.ca
Phone: 250-960-5592

If you don't receive a response to your email within 3 business days please contact us via phone. Sometimes we experience technical issues.

New to Archival Research?

We know accessing archival materials and special collections can be a bit intimidating. We are always happy to help and actively strive to make sure students and those new to using archives feel welcome. For frequently asked questions visit our Archives 101 page for How to Find Us, Planning Your Visit, help with Finding Aids, Archival Terminology, Where to Search, How to Search, and Reproduction Requests. For all other questions, please email us at archives@unbc.ca.

Archives Research Guides by Subject or Topic

Iona Campagnolo at interview for CBC radio

Oral Histories of Northern BC

Includes collections of interviews and oral histories of communities throughout Northern BC. Image: 2009.6.13.49.1579 - Iona Campagnolo at interview for CBC radio

Image: 2012.13.1.5.46 - Public Library - 7th AvenuePrince George History

This guide provides an overview of the materials specific to the history of Prince George within the Northern BC Archives & Special Collections. Image: 2012.13.1.5.46 - Public Library - 7th Avenue

Environment and Industry

Areal view of an asbestos mine.

Natural Resource Development and Environmental Impact in Northern BC

Highlights the Northern BC Archives collections on natural resource development and environmental impact in Northern BC. Image: 2000.1.1.3.20.1 - Clinton Creek Mine

Black and white photo of District Officers meeting at Aleza Lake Experimental StationForest History in Northern BC

Includes collections on research and model forests, pulp, timber, and sawmill companies, as well as photograph collections and oral histories. Image: 2007.1.25.6.12 - District Officers meeting at Aleza Lake Experimental Station

Black and white photo of a steam engineTransportation Development and Impact in Northern BC

Includes collections on railways, highways, and other methods of transportation across Northern BC. Image: 2002.1.9.1.040 - Steam Locomotive, No. 859

Cariboo stagecoaches in front of the Hotel Northern in South Fort George, BCHistory of Outdoor Recreation and Tourism in Northern BC

Includes archival & Special Collections material relating to tourism and outdoor recreation in Northern and Central BC. Image: 2006.20.9.6 - Cariboo stagecoaches in front of the Hotel Northern in South Fort George, BC

Black and white photo of tents in a snowy forest clearing

Northern Exploration and Surveying in Northern BC

NBCA has extensive holding on northern expeditions and surveys from 1907 to the 1930s. Image: 2000.19.1.1 - Campsite in a snowy forest

Historical Land Use Research in Northern and Central BC

Historical records bring essential information to Indigenous or treaty land research, site analysis, site profile work, environmental assessments, and other types of land use research.

Health and Medicine

Cassiar Hospital health care staff and others

Health and Medicine in Northern BC

Includes archival materials in the Northern BC Archives on health and medicine in Northern BC. Image: 2000.1.1.3.07.08 - Health care staff and others

Early picture of Prince George with text "The 1918 Influenza Epidemic in Prince George: Learning Resource"1918 Influenza Epidemic in Prince George: Learning Resource

This learning resource emphasizes primary source analysis utilizing resources from UNBC's Northern BC Archives & Special Collections and beyond on the subject of the 1918 Spanish influenza epidemic in Prince George and the area that now makes up the Regional District of Fraser-Fort George. Image: 2003.13.1.2.042 - Prince George, B.C. May 1st 1919

Social Sciences, Humanities, and First Nations Studies

Black and white photo of women, one of the women is Iona Campagnolo.

Women of Northern BC

Includes collections from various women who have had an influence on Canada and its history. Image: 2009.6.1.292 - Minister Iona Campagnolo speaking to Carol Pughese, 1978

Black and white photo of a man standing at the base of a totem pole outside a building covered with indigenous art.

First Nations & Indigenous Peoples of Northern BC

Includes the Northern BC Archives collections concerning the First Nations and indigenous peoples of Northern BC. Image: 2009.7.1.104 - Chief's lodge and totem, Nass River, BC

Black and white photo of a cannery town by the at the base of a forested hill

Early 20th Century Settlers and Ghost Towns of Northern BC

Includes photographs of settlers in Fort Fraser ca. 1914 and Central Interior, Cariboo, Chilcotin, and southeast BC 1907-1920. Also includes collections on salmon cannery towns, Gold Rush towns, and mining towns that were once thriving communities but are now no longer populated. Image: 2009.10.2.044 - North Pacific Cannery, Port Edward

Black and white photo of Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau and MP Iona Campagnolo

Political and Social History of Northern BC and Canada

Includes collections on political personalities, social and political activists, and political history at various levels of government in Northern BC. Image: 2009.6.1.371 - Canada Winter Games, Brandon, MB - Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau and Iona Campagnolo

Photo of Bridget Moran signing one of her books.

Northern BC Literary Collections and Cultural Life

Includes collections from local authors and poets. Image: 2008.3.1.22.62 - Moran Signing Copy of 'Judgement at Stoney Creek'

Ray Williston and Prince Takamatsu

Multicultural Northern BC

Includes collections illustrating multiculturalism in Northern BC and includes holdings describing the history of Chinese, Japanese, South Asians, First Nations, and Europeans in Northern BC. Image: 2000.13.1.44 - Ray Williston and Prince Takamatsu